Skip to content
Devon Counts — Devon, in numbers.Local help →

Torridge, in numbers

People and living standards: Torridge

Torridge local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Torridge local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 52,792 in 1991 to 70,378 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Torridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 54,783 people in 1996; 70,378 people in 2025. 28.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Torridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,792
199253,264
199354,054
199454,766
199555,192
199654,783
199755,061
199856,153
199956,747
200058,038
200159,129
200259,774
200360,663
200461,479
200561,954
200662,615
200763,100
200863,501
200963,477
201063,686
201163,973
201264,688
201364,860
201465,306
201565,808
201666,512
201767,529
201867,787
201967,837
202067,631
202168,444
202268,637
202369,238
202469,714
202570,378
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Torridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 10,796 people in 1996; 10,481 people in 2025. 2.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Torridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,199
199210,271
199310,521
199410,745
199510,911
199610,796
199710,858
199810,951
199910,820
200010,880
200110,895
200210,929
200311,031
200411,061
200510,977
200610,860
200710,796
200810,771
200910,640
201010,574
201110,495
201210,595
201310,617
201410,643
201510,713
201610,752
201710,941
201810,878
201910,683
202010,548
202110,528
202210,560
202310,599
202410,571
202510,481
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Torridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 32,906 people in 1996; 38,490 people in 2025. 17% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Torridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199132,151
199232,393
199332,759
199433,100
199533,191
199632,906
199733,014
199833,846
199934,392
200035,355
200136,125
200236,431
200336,933
200437,432
200537,768
200638,271
200738,581
200838,720
200938,434
201038,375
201138,362
201238,295
201337,934
201437,863
201537,795
201637,992
201738,339
201838,344
201938,202
202037,937
202138,426
202238,222
202338,430
202438,385
202538,490
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Torridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,081 people in 1996; 21,407 people in 2025. 93.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Torridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,442
199210,600
199310,774
199410,921
199511,090
199611,081
199711,189
199811,356
199911,535
200011,803
200112,109
200212,414
200312,699
200412,986
200513,209
200613,484
200713,723
200814,010
200914,403
201014,737
201115,116
201215,798
201316,309
201416,800
201517,300
201617,768
201718,249
201818,565
201918,952
202019,146
202119,490
202219,855
202320,209
202420,758
202521,407
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 68,114 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torridge · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3560.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African750.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6300.9%
White66,92098.2%
Other ethnic group1330.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 63,839 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torridge · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White63,02198.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4290.7%
Asian/Asian British2710.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British510.1%
Other ethnic group670.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 58,965 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torridge · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White58,39199%
Mixed2510.4%
Asian/Asian British560.1%
Black/Black British530.1%
Chinese/Other2140.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 10.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Torridge council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,788 per person in 1997; £23,212 per person in 2024. 137.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Torridge council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,788
19989,846
199910,148
200010,170
200110,606
200210,889
200311,102
200411,482
200511,930
200612,495
200712,888
200813,455
200914,179
201014,299
201114,277
201214,720
201315,277
201415,721
201516,366
201616,461
201716,745
201817,384
201917,860
202018,409
202119,311
202220,918
202322,090
202423,212
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Torridge council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7.8% in 1997; -10.6% in 2024. 2.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Torridge council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7.8
1998-9.1
1999-10.3
2000-14.6
2001-14.3
2002-13.9
2003-14.8
2004-15.4
2005-15.1
2006-14.7
2007-16
2008-14.6
2009-11.4
2010-11.5
2011-12.4
2012-12.8
2013-12.8
2014-13.1
2015-14
2016-14.5
2017-15
2018-14.8
2019-15.2
2020-12.3
2021-11.6
2022-8.9
2023-9.7
2024-10.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.2%

21 March 2021 · Torridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.9%

21 March 2021 · Torridge local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.8%

21 March 2021 · Torridge local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6%

21 March 2021 · Torridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£263,000

July 2026 · Torridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£789

August 2026 · Torridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.