Skip to content
Devon Counts — Devon, in numbers.Local help →

Teignbridge, in numbers

People and living standards: Teignbridge

Teignbridge local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Teignbridge local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 109,435 in 1991 to 138,607 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Teignbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 115,941 people in 1996; 138,607 people in 2025. 19.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Teignbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991109,435
1992110,785
1993111,536
1994113,442
1995113,996
1996115,941
1997116,725
1998118,523
1999119,087
2000120,382
2001121,167
2002121,810
2003122,424
2004122,964
2005123,460
2006123,508
2007124,066
2008124,396
2009124,451
2010124,359
2011124,271
2012124,830
2013125,754
2014127,236
2015128,566
2016129,668
2017131,572
2018132,707
2019133,965
2020133,869
2021135,189
2022135,899
2023137,306
2024138,296
2025138,607
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Teignbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,501 people in 1996; 21,090 people in 2025. 1.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Teignbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,458
199219,981
199320,428
199420,931
199521,090
199621,501
199721,743
199822,113
199922,228
200022,414
200122,475
200222,347
200322,195
200421,963
200521,765
200621,341
200721,260
200821,078
200920,812
201020,592
201120,446
201220,388
201320,444
201420,697
201520,896
201621,123
201721,332
201821,447
201921,542
202021,471
202121,335
202221,455
202321,520
202421,343
202521,090
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Teignbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 68,686 people in 1996; 78,345 people in 2025. 14.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Teignbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199165,236
199265,793
199365,946
199467,063
199567,421
199668,686
199769,108
199870,389
199970,586
200071,647
200172,116
200272,749
200373,391
200474,062
200574,649
200675,074
200775,444
200875,458
200975,256
201074,962
201174,555
201273,895
201373,811
201474,247
201574,712
201674,981
201775,932
201876,235
201976,685
202076,347
202177,239
202277,117
202377,887
202478,262
202578,345
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Teignbridge council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,754 people in 1996; 39,172 people in 2025. 52.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Teignbridge council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199124,741
199225,011
199325,162
199425,448
199525,485
199625,754
199725,874
199826,021
199926,273
200026,321
200126,576
200226,714
200326,838
200426,939
200527,046
200627,093
200727,362
200827,860
200928,383
201028,805
201129,270
201230,547
201331,499
201432,292
201532,958
201633,564
201734,308
201835,025
201935,738
202036,051
202136,615
202237,327
202337,899
202438,691
202539,172
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 134,802 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Teignbridge · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,0040.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2160.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,5641.2%
White131,66897.7%
Other ethnic group3500.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 124,220 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Teignbridge · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White122,16398.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9250.7%
Asian/Asian British8930.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1170.1%
Other ethnic group1220.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 120,958 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Teignbridge · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White119,74299%
Mixed5250.4%
Asian/Asian British1750.1%
Black/Black British1400.1%
Chinese/Other3760.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 1.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Teignbridge council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,539 per person in 1997; £26,367 per person in 2024. 150.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Teignbridge council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,539
199810,632
199910,955
200011,158
200111,658
200211,973
200312,211
200412,695
200513,308
200614,091
200714,623
200815,264
200915,752
201015,896
201116,000
201216,568
201317,218
201417,661
201518,389
201618,644
201718,875
201819,655
201920,408
202020,745
202121,771
202222,955
202324,841
202426,367
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Teignbridge council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -0.7% in 1997; 1.5% in 2024. 2.2 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Teignbridge council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-0.7
1998-1.8
1999-3.2
2000-6.3
2001-5.8
2002-5.4
2003-6.3
2004-6.5
2005-5.3
2006-3.8
2007-4.7
2008-3.1
2009-1.6
2010-1.6
2011-1.8
2012-1.9
2013-1.7
2014-2.3
2015-3.3
2016-3.2
2017-4.2
2018-3.7
2019-3.1
2020-1.2
2021-0.3
20220
20231.6
20241.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.8%

21 March 2021 · Teignbridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.6%

21 March 2021 · Teignbridge local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Teignbridge local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.4%

21 March 2021 · Teignbridge local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£302,000

July 2026 · Teignbridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£961

August 2026 · Teignbridge local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.