Skip to content
Devon Counts — Devon, in numbers.Local help →

North Devon, in numbers

People and living standards: North Devon

North Devon local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

North Devon local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 85,035 in 1991 to 101,281 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

North Devon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 85,285 people in 1996; 101,281 people in 2025. 18.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — North Devon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199185,035
199285,241
199386,137
199485,518
199584,840
199685,285
199785,891
199885,888
199986,370
200087,127
200187,674
200288,477
200389,570
200490,433
200591,146
200691,744
200792,355
200892,775
200993,046
201093,293
201193,976
201293,742
201393,610
201493,740
201593,859
201694,407
201795,356
201896,052
201997,325
202097,622
202199,398
2022100,393
2023100,519
2024101,035
2025101,281
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

North Devon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,177 people in 1996; 16,210 people in 2025. 0.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — North Devon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,077
199216,093
199316,346
199416,329
199516,231
199616,177
199716,257
199816,152
199916,351
200016,513
200116,580
200216,707
200316,877
200416,857
200516,741
200616,624
200716,468
200816,329
200916,303
201016,138
201116,207
201216,137
201316,102
201416,036
201515,944
201616,128
201716,422
201816,480
201916,633
202016,399
202116,443
202216,639
202316,558
202416,427
202516,210
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

North Devon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 51,819 people in 1996; 57,686 people in 2025. 11.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — North Devon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199151,993
199252,123
199352,602
199452,000
199551,339
199651,819
199752,176
199852,188
199952,555
200053,106
200153,389
200253,748
200354,514
200455,206
200555,849
200656,415
200756,855
200856,895
200956,659
201056,606
201156,807
201255,815
201355,134
201454,867
201554,779
201654,808
201755,139
201855,380
201956,011
202056,153
202157,304
202257,588
202357,499
202457,740
202557,686
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

North Devon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,289 people in 1996; 27,385 people in 2025. 58.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — North Devon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,965
199217,025
199317,189
199417,189
199517,270
199617,289
199717,458
199817,548
199917,464
200017,508
200117,705
200218,022
200318,179
200418,370
200518,556
200618,705
200719,032
200819,551
200920,084
201020,549
201120,962
201221,790
201322,374
201422,837
201523,136
201623,471
201723,795
201824,192
201924,681
202025,070
202125,651
202226,166
202326,462
202426,868
202527,385
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 98,612 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Devon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,1351.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3250.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,1741.2%
White95,63997%
Other ethnic group3390.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 93,667 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Devon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White91,74297.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7850.8%
Asian/Asian British8350.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1580.2%
Other ethnic group1470.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 87,508 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Devon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White86,67499%
Mixed3640.4%
Asian/Asian British2050.2%
Black/Black British760.1%
Chinese/Other1890.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

North Devon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,058 per person in 1997; £24,005 per person in 2024. 138.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — North Devon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,058
199810,203
199910,655
200010,830
200111,362
200211,561
200311,827
200412,239
200512,720
200613,391
200713,823
200814,408
200914,909
201015,038
201115,015
201215,673
201316,334
201416,853
201517,711
201617,890
201718,235
201818,472
201919,279
202019,554
202120,577
202221,383
202322,795
202424,005
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

North Devon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -5.2% in 1997; -7.5% in 2024. 2.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — North Devon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-5.2
1998-5.8
1999-5.8
2000-9
2001-8.2
2002-8.6
2003-9.3
2004-9.8
2005-9.5
2006-8.6
2007-9.9
2008-8.5
2009-6.9
2010-6.9
2011-7.8
2012-7.2
2013-6.7
2014-6.8
2015-6.9
2016-7.1
2017-7.4
2018-9.5
2019-8.5
2020-6.8
2021-5.8
2022-6.9
2023-6.8
2024-7.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55%

21 March 2021 · North Devon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.1%

21 March 2021 · North Devon local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.8%

21 March 2021 · North Devon local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · North Devon local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£283,000

July 2026 · North Devon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£846

August 2026 · North Devon local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.