Skip to content
Devon Counts — Devon, in numbers.Local help →

Devon, in numbers

People and living standards

Devon County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Devon County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 658,526 in 1991 to 845,541 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Devon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 675,534 people in 1996; 845,541 people in 2025. 25.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Devon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991658,526
1992662,617
1993665,394
1994670,558
1995673,075
1996675,534
1997681,358
1998687,448
1999692,295
2000700,886
2001705,568
2002709,940
2003714,055
2004718,827
2005725,620
2006729,592
2007736,326
2008739,921
2009740,988
2010743,908
2011747,709
2012751,136
2013754,431
2014760,234
2015766,810
2016773,800
2017783,352
2018789,834
2019796,542
2020800,796
2021814,435
2022825,600
2023833,930
2024842,043
2025845,541
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Devon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 125,585 people in 1996; 128,561 people in 2025. 2.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Devon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991119,910
1992121,357
1993123,135
1994125,072
1995125,532
1996125,585
1997126,533
1998127,113
1999127,367
2000127,876
2001127,446
2002127,020
2003126,938
2004126,271
2005125,760
2006124,905
2007124,686
2008124,278
2009123,458
2010122,912
2011123,078
2012123,417
2013123,469
2014124,165
2015124,699
2016125,678
2017127,277
2018127,707
2019128,042
2020127,452
2021128,195
2022129,446
2023129,874
2024129,711
2025128,561
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Devon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 406,951 people in 1996; 490,194 people in 2025. 20.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Devon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991400,061
1992401,585
1993401,785
1994403,941
1995405,160
1996406,951
1997410,999
1998415,821
1999419,505
2000426,720
2001430,303
2002433,578
2003436,590
2004440,781
2005446,736
2006450,447
2007455,339
2008456,110
2009454,620
2010454,702
2011454,791
2012451,208
2013449,365
2014450,140
2015452,541
2016454,952
2017459,020
2018461,687
2019464,202
2020466,412
2021475,297
2022481,395
2023486,063
2024489,831
2025490,194
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Devon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 142,998 people in 1996; 226,786 people in 2025. 58.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Devon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991138,555
1992139,675
1993140,474
1994141,545
1995142,383
1996142,998
1997143,826
1998144,514
1999145,423
2000146,290
2001147,819
2002149,342
2003150,527
2004151,775
2005153,124
2006154,240
2007156,301
2008159,533
2009162,910
2010166,294
2011169,840
2012176,511
2013181,597
2014185,929
2015189,570
2016193,170
2017197,055
2018200,440
2019204,298
2020206,932
2021210,943
2022214,759
2023217,993
2024222,501
2025226,786
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 811,642 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Devon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh11,8451.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,4740.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups10,9671.4%
White782,45596.4%
Other ethnic group3,9010.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 746,399 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Devon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White728,07397.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6,5200.9%
Asian/Asian British8,7101.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,4130.2%
Other ethnic group1,6830.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 704,493 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Devon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White696,59098.9%
Mixed3,3530.5%
Asian/Asian British1,5530.2%
Black/Black British8200.1%
Chinese/Other2,1770.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 0.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Devon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,831.31 per person in 1997; £25,781.39 per person in 2024. 138% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Devon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,831.31
199810,953.56
199911,307.32
200011,489.74
200112,027.19
200212,324.99
200312,570.46
200413,062.95
200513,615.94
200614,353.23
200714,862.98
200815,519.22
200915,946.28
201016,043.65
201116,074.44
201216,602.85
201317,260.69
201417,727.44
201518,567.83
201618,699.92
201719,015.72
201819,694.01
201920,405.7
202020,517.09
202121,338.72
202222,585.13
202324,390.33
202425,781.39
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Devon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 2.09% in 1997; -0.71% in 2024. 2.79 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Devon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19972.09
19981.17
1999-0.04
2000-3.47
2001-2.78
2002-2.58
2003-3.56
2004-3.75
2005-3.14
2006-1.99
2007-3.14
2008-1.46
2009-0.41
2010-0.66
2011-1.35
2012-1.7
2013-1.45
2014-1.97
2015-2.4
2016-2.89
2017-3.48
2018-3.51
2019-3.16
2020-2.25
2021-2.31
2022-1.65
2023-0.25
2024-0.71
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.1%

21 March 2021 · Devon County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.6%

21 March 2021 · Devon County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.6%

21 March 2021 · Devon County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Devon County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£303,000

July 2026 · Devon County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.